A hometown newspaper with a local office, local owners & lots of local news

Local candidate filing period opens Tuesday

The time is now for folks who want to make an impact in local politics. The filing period for local school boards, most city councils and many township supervisor positions will be open Tuesday, Aug. 2 through Tuesday, Aug. 16.

Filing fees are minimal, mostly between $2 and $5.

According to the Minnesota Secretary of State website, all candidates:

• must be eligible to vote in Minnesota

• must have not filed for another office at the upcoming primary or general election

• must be 21 years of age or more upon assuming office.

A candidate must also be a resident of the particular jurisdiction for at least 30 days in order to run.

In most cases, people must file in the clerk’s office, whether it’s for a school district, municipality or township. Then again, there’s not always an office to go to. In the city of Wright, for example, people filing affidavits of candidacy for mayor or one of two council seats must make an appointment to visit the home of the city clerk, according to the public notice in last week’s Pine Knot News, which has been home to many election notices over the past several weeks.

In addition to the above qualifications, a school board member must have not been convicted of an offense for which they are required to register as a predatory offender under Minnesota Statutes 243.166. Every school board in Carlton County has three seats up for election in November.

Check next week’s Pine Knot News for a more detailed list of positions open during the Aug. 2-16 filing period.

Other races

The filing period for any offices that might have held a primary election on

Aug. 9 ended May 31. Those offices and candidates were published in the June 3 issue of the Pine Knot News and are listed as follows.

City of Cloquet


Roger Maki (i)

David Bjerkness

City Council

Ward 1

Warren “Bun” Carlson (i)

Erik J Blesener

Ward 2

Sheila Lamb (i)

Ward 3

Chris Swanson (i)

County Commissioner

District 2

Marv Bodie (i)

District 4

Mark Thell (i)

Susan (“Sue”) Zmyslony


Kelly Lake (i)

Jason Syrett

County Attorney

Lauri Ketola (i)


District 2

Tim L. Michaelson

District 3

Robert Fox

State Senate District 11

Jason Rarick-Republican (i)

John A. Peura-DFL*

Michelle Boyechko-DFL*

State Representative District 11A

Pete Radosevich-DFL

Jeff Dotseth-Republican

*DFL candidates for State Senate District 11 Michelle Boyechko and John A. Peura will be on the primary ballot on Aug. 9. All other Carlton County races don’t have a primary and candidates will automatically advance to the general election in November.