A hometown newspaper with a local office, local owners & lots of local news

Candidate filings, races for Nov. 8 general election

The filing period for Carlton County, the state of Minnesota, and the city of Cloquet was in May, but the filing period for remaining cities in Carlton County ended Tuesday, Aug. 16.

Now that filing periods and August’s primary races have concluded, what follows is a list of all candidates running for public office in the Nov. 8 general election (*incumbent):

School board


Cloquet (elect 3: Ted Lammi*, Gary “Hawk” Huard*, Jamie Graham, David Battaglia*, Sarah Plante Buhs)

Barnum (elect 3: Betty A. Anderson, Dawn Hultgren, Jessica Unkelhaeuser)

Carlton (elect 3: Laura Nilsen, Susan Karp*, Jeremy “Sam” Ojibway*, Skye Fleisch (Shanda))

Cromwell-Wright (elect 3: Thomas Anderson*, Faith Nyberg, Shayne Korpela*, Robert Bruce Schoenberg, Alisha Gail Soderbloom)

Moose Lake (elect 3: Steven Blondo*, Julie Peterson*, Donna Kirk, Brenda Sue Heikkila)

Esko (elect 3: John Feely, Robert Johnson, Richard “Rich” Kresky, Russell Kurhajetz, Mark Nyholm, Todd Rengo*, Margaret “Maggie” Sunnarborg*)

Wrenshall (elect 3: Randall Jack Eudy*, Debra Washenesky*, Cindy Bourn*, Eric Ankrum, Mary Carlson, Benjamin Johnson, Kristin Reinsch)

Municipal filing


Mayor (Roger Maki*, David Bjerkness)

Council member Ward 1 (Erik J. Blesener, Warren “Bun” Carlson*)

Council member Ward 2 (Sheila Lamb*)

Council member Ward 3 (Chris Swanson* – Swanson has since moved out of the ward and resigned his seat)


Mayor (Dale Riihiluoma)

Two council members (Justin Dinger*, Lori Berglund*)


Mayor (Mike Soderstrom*)

Two council members (Brent Bodie*, Denise Coleman Lyng*, David Sobczak)


Mayor (Sharon Zelazny*)

Two council members (Raymond Lally*, Alex French*)

Kettle River

Mayor (David Lucas*, Monique Doward)

Two council members (Jesse L. Kemp, Miya Kohmetscher*, Elizabeth Mascarenas)

Special election for one council seat (Guy P. Collier)

Moose Lake

Mayor (Ted Shaw*, Jim Michalski)

Two council member seats (Douglas Juntunen*, Walter Lower III*)


Mayor (Ron Stigers, Joshua J. Kolodge)

Two council member seats (Michael “Mike” Berthiaume*, Cody Grashorn, Jesse S. Johnson, Marshall Johnson)

Special election for one council seat (Jason Bartyl, Annette F. Bryant)


Mayor (Gary Butala*)

Two council member seats (Joyce Gvesrude*, Duane Ziebarth*)


Mayor (Donovan E. Ranta)

Two council member seats (Shale Korpela*, Terri A. Lott)

Thomson Township

Town supervisor A (John Bergman, Amna Hanson, Terry W. Hill)

Town supervisor B (Ruth Janke, Parrish Silbernagel)

Town supervisor E (Anthony “Tony” Compo)

Carlton County

Commissioner District 2 (Marv Bodie*)

Commissioner District 4 (Mark Thell*, Susan “Sue” Zmyslony)

County Sheriff (Kelly Lake*, Jason Syrett)

County Attorney (Lauri Ketola)

Soil and Water District 2 (Tim L. Michaelson)

Soil and Water District 3 (Robert Fox)

Federal, state


U.S. Representative

District 8

Republican - Pete Stauber

DFL - Jen Schultz

Governor and

Lt. Governor

Republican - Scott Jensen/Matt Birk

DFL - Tim Walz/Peggy Flanagan

Grassroots - Legalize Cannabis

Steve Patterson/Matt Huff

Legal Marijuana Now

James McCaskel/David Sandbeck

Secretary of State

Republican - Kim Crockett

DFL - Steve Simon

Attorney General

Republican - Jim Schultz

DFL - Keith Ellison

State Senator District 11

Republican - Jason Rarick

DFL - Michelle Boyechko

Rendered 07/11/2024 18:34