File for office now


August 5, 2022

The filing period for local school boards, most city councils and township supervisor positions opened Tuesday and will remain open through Tuesday, Aug. 16. In most cases, one must file in the clerk’s office, whether it’s for a school district, municipality or township. Filing fees are minimal, mostly between $2 and $5.

School Board positions

Current seat holders’ names are provided in parentheses.

Cloquet (Ted Lammi, Gary Huard, Dave Battaglia)

Barnum (Paul Coughlin, Beth Schatz, Jessica Unkelhaeuser)

Carlton (Ann Gustafson, Susan Karp, Sam Ojibway)

Cromwell-Wright (Tom Anderson, Walter Collman, Shayne Korpela)

Moose Lake (Steven Blondo, Julie Peterson, Kim Bohnsack)

Esko (Jeff Salo, Todd Rengo, Margaret Sunnarborg)

Wrenshall (Jack Eudy, Debra Washenesky, Cindy Bourn)

Municipal positions

The filing period for the city of Cloquet was in May, but every other city in Carlton County has its filing period now.


Mayor (Jason Goodwin)

Two council members (Justin Dinger, Lori Berglund)


Mayor (Mike Soderstrom)

Two council members (Brent Bodie, Denise Coleman Lyng)


Mayor (Sharon Zelazny)

Two council member seats (Raymond Lally, Alex French)

Kettle River

Mayor (David Lucas)

Two council member seats (Guy Collier, Miya Kohmetscher)

Special election for one council seat

Moose Lake

Mayor (Ted Shaw)

Two council member seats (Doug Juntunen, Walter Lower III)


Mayor (Annette Bryant)

Two council member seats (Mike Berthiaume, Ron Stigers)

Special election for one council seat


Mayor (Gary Butala)

Two council member seats (Joyce Gvesrude, Duane Ziebarth)


Mayor (Mark Groth)

Two council member seats (Shale Korpela, Donovan Ranta)


Every township has supervisor spots up for election. Check with your local township clerk to find out more.


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2024